FIRST TASTED: Chye Seng Huat Hardware

Last Christmas when I was having my day trip in Singapore, I suggested coming to this unique hardware shop that sells good coffees. It was really unfortunate yet embarrassing that I was firmed that shops like this would definitely be having their door wide open to do as much business as they can. I supposed I was running out of my quota for luck (since that was the end of the year). Since then, I swore that I will certainly come back for a visit whenever I’m free visiting Singapore again.

Here we are, at the beginning of 2014, trying to bump our luck and see if I can finish the unfinished business. And yes! After one whole torturing month, I finally got a chance to find out what’s so fancy about this shop and why it’s so crowded most of the time.

Ambient/ Environment:

Looking from the outside, it looks exactly like a hardware shop selling tools. The business sign looks exactly like what any other hardware shops would use and the previous-decade metal gate gives antique feel. One could really be fooled by the outlook of it and go in there buying a hammer or spanner. However, the closer we get, the more the hardware feel vanishes.

The previous-decade metal gate is not really a gate for anyone to enter the shop. In fact, it’s only for decoration purposes. To enter the shop, we have to walk through the side door on the right hand side of the shop.

First step into the shop, there’s a coffee beans toasting room right in front of us. The actual café is just right next to it where the antique metal gate is blocking. This place is free seating, one can sit wherever he/she likes, be it open air or indoor. I chose to sit indoor, as I was not really keen to expose myself to the elements that day. First door into the café, there’s wafts of coffee fragrance greeting my nostril, it’s intoxicating. Not only that this shop is free seating, it’s somewhat self-service too. One has to walk to the counter to order the things that they want and bring your own drinks to your own table once it’s done. If you’re lucky enough like me, waiters might help out by bringing the drinks to where you sit.

The decoration inside is a mix of simplistic and retro feel, there’s even vinyl disc and player found at the water refill station! I wonder why that thing can always catch my attention, not too sure if they are still working though. Overall, it’s very pleasant place to stay.

IMG_1858   IMG_1865   IMG_1866

Food:

Those were just the tiny details. What matters most is the food and drink that they serve over there.  As usual, 3 of us ordered 3 drinks and 3 deserts to go with coffee.

The following is the 3 coffees that we ordered- Daily Hot Brew, Cappuccino and latte.

IMG_1862   IMG_1863   IMG_1864

I personally like the cappuccino over the other two. The foam was of professional grade, it’s very smooth; the coffee taste was strong, but not overwhelming. The harmonious balance of the milk foam and the coffee makes a very good cup of Cappu. I have to say “This is the best Cappu I have ever tried”. The other 2 drinks were pretty good as well, but I prefer the creamy texture of the Cappu more.

IMG_1867

Coming up next is the 3 deserts that we ordered- Creamy Fudge, Chocolate Almond+Banana Crumble and carrot cake.

IMG_1861

I have no complaint on the Creamy Fudge and Carrot Cake, as they were pretty much flawless. The texture, the fragrance and the taste were in a great balance, it’s not something that one would easily be bored with. I personally recommend the Creamy Fudge. It really is “What the Fudge”. One bite followed by a sip of coffee, all of a sudden, you’re in heaven (that’s a bit exaggerating, but it’s really good!). One small complaint goes to the Chocolate Almond+Banana Crumble. It’s a tad too dry to my liking.

Service:

It’s just average. Some of the crews were friendly; some were not, especially the baristas, maybe they were concentrating in making a good cup of coffee. I did have a brief but informative chat with one friendly part-time waitress working there. I got to know that this café is run by a group of baristas (no wonder the coffee is so good!) and they have other restaurants & cafés of different concepts opened around in Singapore.

Verdict time again…

It fits all the bill of a good café. I personally quite like the retro yet modern feel of the café. Without a single doubt, I will be going back this café again and I believe the revisit is going to happen very soon.

IMG_1860

PS: I nearly did something silly again, but I’ve learned to take it slow this time round. Not too sure if it’s good for me though.

Leave a comment