FIRST TASTED: Kith Café @ Park Mall

A week after Christmas 2013 was New Year of 2014. It seems like a good arrangement for us to finish our unfinished business for Christmas. Since it fell in the middle of the week, it would be more convenient for me to just stay in Singapore to explore more FOOD.

This time round, my friends and I chose to go somewhere that’s simpler than PS for a brunch (we were pretty sure we won’t have any breakfast, as we had a long New Year countdown night cum buddy birthday celebration came together.). This place was recommended a while ago from a good buddy of mine after he tried, he said I would love this cafe due to the simplicity of the menu. Immediately, I gave him a “WTH” face through the phone. Food, ambient and many other things should be more important than the simple menu, should they?

So here we were, arrived the Kith Cafe at about half past one in the afternoon, for brunch.

Below is the brief review on this café.

Ambient/ Environment:

This Kith Café is located in Park Mall, right opposite of Dhoby Ghaut MRT. When we stepped close to the café, it’s not hard to notice that it’s full house. There was no table that’s big enough to accommodate 6 of us. That’s no problem to us, because it’s a holiday, and we can wait. They are kind enough to provide stools outside the shop, so that people don’t need to stand while they are on the queue.

IMAG0179

While waiting, I took a chance to explore the café a bit. There are 3 areas for ones to sit on. Firstly, it’s in the shop, that’s where the barista and coffee machine located, I believe that’s where the kitchen is too. The other two areas are open areas, located outside the shop, whereby ones could get more exposure to the environment. Since it’s always crowded in the shop and there were so many of us, we chose to sit outside. Despite the crowd, the surrounding was rather peaceful, seemed to be a great place to have a lay-back afternoon, chill and chitchat with buddies.

Food:

My Philosophy: A good day always starts with a good cup of coffee.

IMAG0186

I ordered myself, as usual, a cup of Cappuccino. It’s just as weird as the one served in the PS café, they put chocolate on the foam. I asked one of the waitresses: “why is there chocolate on my coffee?” She was nice enough to go and ask the barista (that was her first day working in Kith). She came back with an answer, saying that “This is how a Cappu will be served in Kith.” Albeit it’s a bit off from the originality, I was okay with it, as she was earnest enough to be forgiven.

I made a mistake by asking an extra shot coffee for my Cappu. The coffee taste was too strong, beyond where a Cappu should be. The foam of the Cappu was not smoother than that of PS, but it’s above average, quite acceptable for the price we paid.

IMAG0188

For solid food, I ordered myself a big breakfast. It comes with Choice of toast (which I chose Multigrain), Choice of eggs (which I chose scrambled eggs), bacon, smoked Bratwurst, sautéed mushrooms, grilled tomato and lastly the Strawberry jam!

IMAG0195

This plate of scrumptious big breakie was just excellent to wake us all up after the celebration last night. All the items were in great balance. I might be too hungry to have my breakfast so late. Instead of slowly enjoying the meal, I swept the whole plate of big breakie into my stomach within a really short period of time. I’m not too sure if they were tasted well (not a good food reviewer that day, as I was too hungry and tired), but what I remember is that the strawberry jam was really good. It tasted natural, not sweet, no taste of chemical additives in it at all. Good recommendation, The-first-day waitress!

Services:

I would say the waiters and waitresses there were completely different from what we encountered in PS. They were friendly, attentive enough, always put a smile on their face at all time, love their job and know their product really well. There was, however, at some point of time, I faced some difficulties to get a waiter/waitress to help up (with the billing, if I am not mistaken), but it’s quite understandable, as there were limited staffs working and there were 3 areas (which were quite far apart) to be taken care of. Most important of all, it’s holiday! We can wait.

Verdict…

The overall experience was considered pleasant. The foods served here were of certain standard and quite comfortable; environment was cozy enough and not intimidating; the smile from waiters & waitresses could easily warm my whole day and the best part of all was that it only cost us about half of what we paid for in PS, which was very good value for money.

I will definitely come back to try out other dishes. They do have a really long list of food choices for me to choose from… 🙂

IMAG0180