REVISITED: Restoran Xiang Hoe (祥和小食海鲜馆)@ Pekan Nanas

Yesterday, my parents and I went to Pekan Nanas to visit my grand-aunt who cracked her spine getting up from her bed a week back. She can only lie on her bed and not able to get up from her bed at the moment. Not at least until her cracked spine heal up again. I wish her a speedy recovery.

After visiting her, we went to a restaurant that we have visited for a couple of times. The experience was good, but I’m surprised that I didn’t blog about this restaurant. Pekan Nanas is a simple small town which basically has nothing much for me to explore, which is another reason why I came back to this restaurant.

Ambient / Environment:

It’s irrelevant for restaurant like such.

Food:

3 of us ordered 3 dishes, as shown below:

IMG_1848

The pork belly with salted fish (咸鱼花腩煲) is one of the famous dishes here. The pork belly is marbled with fat; hence, it’s not hard when it’s cooked. It’s fat, but not greasy, because most of the grease in the fat has been fried out. This latest try was quite a disappointment for me, because the taste of the salted fish was not as strong as compare to my previous tries. Also, the dosage of the dark soy sauce could be stronger. I prefer this dish to be fried a little longer and drier.

IMG_1849

The curry fish head is also one of the famous dishes here. Looks good huh? Not just that, it tasted good as well. There’s an old saying: Good foods are mostly unhealthy. This is rather true for this case. The thickness of the curry sauce was caused by the coconut milk and the amount they put in was generous. The fish head was considered fresh and the vegetables they put in was a great balance to the curry fish head. It’s truly calories well spent.

IMG_1847

The last one was again a plate of vegetable to balance the entire meal. Portion was small, it has nothing to shout about.

Services:

Something that really stands out was the black faced waitress. I wonder why she still does what she does, still works as a waitress there, which was pretty obvious that she didn’t seem to be enjoying it.

Verdict:

Our previous visits were with my uncle who stays in Pekan Nanas and also a regular customer here. With him, all the foods that we ordered were excellent; without him, the food didn’t taste as excellent as it should be.

My next visit won’t happen without him.

IMG_1846

Leave a comment